Home Page

Meet the Governors



Warwickshire County Council put in place an Interim Executive Board (IEB) in place of the usual Governing Body in October 2016, following the Ofsted Inspection in September 2016.


The IEB’s main function is to secure rapid improvement in the school and to ensure it has a sustainable structure and leadership capacity for the future. Central to this is the promotion of high standards of educational achievement.  The IEB takes on all the responsibilities of a normally constituted governing body, including the management of the budget, the curriculum, staff, pay and performance management and the appointment of the head teacher and deputy head teacher.  It also has the additional responsibility to conduct the school so as to secure, as far as is practicable to do so, the provision of a sound basis for future improvement in the conduct of the school.


The IEB does not have any committees or sub-committees.  All governance matters are discussed at full meetings of the IEB.  IEB meetings are deemed quorate as long as two members are present.


Our IEB has four members. They are:

Mrs Mary McKay: A former manager of Governor Services at Warwickshire County Council, Mary has several years’ experience of school governance and is currently chair of governors at Lapworth C of E Primary School. She delivers governor training courses and is an assessor and member of the Governor Mark board. She has worked with a wide range of governing bodies and is knowledgeable, confident and independent of the Local Authority (LA). Mary is chair of the IEB.

Mr Andrew Deeks: Andrew is the nominee of the Coventry Church of England Diocesan Board of Education (DBE). He has 30 years’ experience as a school governor in the Alcester area and has served variously as chair and vice chair of full governing bodies and committees. He has particularly good knowledge of school funding, staff and personnel issues, as well as education legislation. He is currently chair of the Staffing and Personnel Committee at St Nicholas C of E Primary School in Alcester.

Mrs Sue Ogden: Sue is a former executive head teacher over a number of small, rural primary schools in Warwickshire. She is also a head teachers’ mentor and has lots of experience working with the DBE. Her vast educational expertise means she is extremely well qualified to provide the governance lead on education provision and pupil outcomes.

Mrs Sue Casey: Sue has been a school governor for more than ten years, in both primary and secondary phases. She has chaired various committees and is currently chair of governors at Kenilworth School and Sixth Form. Sue was designated as a National Leader of Governance in 2016 and now provides support to other schools in Warwickshire as well as delivering governor training.


The IEB meets at least once a month, usually more frequently, and they are working hard with the LA, the DBE and the school community to bring about the rapid improvements our school requires.





Non-confidential minutes from the IEB meetings will be uploaded here shortly.